Review: The Dark World by Cara Lynn Shultz

The Dark World (Dark World, #1)

The Dark World by Cara Lynn Shultz

Dark World, book one
published on May 27th 2014 by Harlequin Teen
paranormal | fantasy | romance

find the author on
Goodreads | website

find the book on
Goodreads | The Book Depository

FPaige Kelly is used to weird–in fact, she probably corners the market on weird, considering that her best friend, Dottie, has been dead since the 1950s. But when a fire demon attacks Paige in detention, she has to admit that things have gotten out of her league. Luckily, the cute new boy in school, Logan Bradley, is a practiced demon slayer-and he isn’t fazed by Paige’s propensity to chat with the dead. Suddenly, Paige is smack in the middle of a centuries-old battle between warlocks and demons, learning to fight with a magic sword so that she can defend herself. And if she makes one wrong move, she’ll be pulled into the Dark World, an alternate version of our world that’s overrun by demons-and she might never make it home.

-

REVIEW

At first, I wasn’t really motivated to read this because to me, the synopsis seemed like a jumbled mess of word vomit! Really, it was as if the whole plot was plastered there, and that there would not be any sort of a twist left. When I finished though, I realized that it was a good enough read!

 “I don’t think I’ll ever stop falling in love with you.”

Lol, I kinda swooned on the spot when I read that line. I’m talking about real movie-worthy swooning!

The romance was quite intense and a bit too quick. Seeing as though, one minute the hero and the heroine were friends, and then BAM! They’re sucking each other’s faces! It was fine though, because Logan more than made up for it! He was sweet, caring, protective, and an all-around badass! And what he was going to do for Paige in the end…*faints from too much feels*. Normally, I get irritated with romances that are too “sappy”, but their romance had some kind of a depth to it, so yeah, I approve!

The characters were very well-developed (most of the time)! Paige was a good enough heroine. She has powers and doesn’t take anybody’s shit, but she’s occasionally stupid.

Now, Logan–I don’t even want to explain anymore. The point is, he’s perfect! Lol, now that I think about it, every non-fictional Logan that I have encountered, I liked!

The plot was great. The world-building that Cara Lynn Shultz did was just awesome! Demons, warlocks, alternate universe of New York–it was pretty cool! The book was also well-paced and well-written.

The only thing I really hate about this book is its lack of twists. Like I said before, the synopsis just seemed like a summary of the book in itself. Here, there were no gasp inducing twists! It was quite predictable. Guy likes girl, girl likes guy, they fight demons. That’s it.

Nonetheless, the book was above average. Not great, but at least it wasn’t anywhere near terrible.

pagebreak

Skulls 3.5

3.5 skulls

pagebreak

Let’s discuss! Are you interested in hot demon slayers? Interested in this book?
SIG - Dyan

34 thoughts on “Review: The Dark World by Cara Lynn Shultz

    • lol! I go through that all the time! I’m always like, “I know this, but from WHERE??” Annoying as hell!

      The world is pretty cool, you’ll just have to excuse the synopsis aka summary! :)

      Like

  1. Well depsite the romance and the twists, it sounds like an interesting read and I confess I’m curious about the plot and the characters. They look great. Thanks for the review.

    Like

    • If you can overlook a straight-forward plot, then maybe you’ll enjoy this! The world and characters are awesome, and the romance was good enough, so why not?

      Like

    • Even if their first meeting wasn’t described in the book, you can practically imagine the drool coming out of their mouths when they saw each other! *shudders*

      Aside from that though, it was good enough…

      Like

    • Interesting? Yes, I guess. Although, there are NO TWISTS whatsoever! It was irritating!!!

      I hope that you’ll end up reading it though…:) (lol I’m so becoming bipolar!)

      Like

    • As I said in my review, it’s pretty plain. No twists, no gasps, it was pretty simple! So, if you’re looking for a complex book with a lot of twists and turns, I don’t think that this is the book for you…

      Like

  2. You love Logans, huh? :P The lack of twists might put me off, so I’d better now read the synopsis (which I didn’t). This is the kind of book you read when you want something simple. (I imagined you swooning over that line, and you looked so cute!)

    Like

    • Yeah! Logan from Shade, Logan from the Courier’s Daughter series, and now this one!

      And yeah, I agree. This book is pretty straight-forward. You don’t need to reread anything, no need to stop and process. Point is, there’s not much depth to this book.

      P.S. I probably looked constipated lol.

      Like

  3. Oh i love it when a book has strong world building! A major bonus and the romance does sound swoony (that line got me) although i agree it seems it would have been better if the romance weren’t so rushed!

    Like

  4. I enjoyed this one too but I agree the romance was way too intense and it took over the plot which seemed to lead nowhere for so long. My fav part was the worldbuilding esp where the other world was involved. I loved the ending the most we finally got to see more of it! I think book 2 could be pretty epic! Great review! :)

    Like

    • Yeah! I barely enjoyed the fantasy aspect here, because the romance seemed too overpowering!

      I enjoyed the world she created too! The way she thought of the Dark World was just awesome!

      Like

  5. This is the second review I’ve seen of this today! It’s clogging up my feed ;)

    This does sound mighty cool, though I’m really have trouble with that cover. Why is a building coming out of her head? Lol

    Like

  6. I’m glad you enjoyed this one, Dyan! I actually added this book to my TBR because of the plot, it sounds very intriguing. And I love if that the characters are well developed and the romance is nice. Can’t wait to get my hands on this!

    Like

  7. Me thinks you also fell in love with this Logan person ;)

    For some reason, I really like the cover and although this wasn’t an awesome read it was still above average and you still liked it so that’s a plus for me to check this out. It’s also the first of the series so I’m hoping the series will develop for the better! Great review Dyan :)

    Like

What's the juice? Spill!

